# BATH AND NORTH EAST SOMERSET COUNCIL

## MINUTES OF COUNCIL MEETING

Monday, 18th June, 2012

Present:- Councillors Simon Allen, Patrick Anketell-Jones, Rob Appleyard, Sharon Ball, Colin Barrett, Gabriel Batt, Cherry Beath, Mathew Blankley, John Bull, Neil Butters. Paul Crossley, Anthony Clarke, Nicholas Coombes. Gerry Curran. Sally Davis. Douglas Deacon, David Dixon, Peter Edwards, Michael Evans, Andrew Furse, Charles Gerrish. Francine Haeberling, Katie Hall, Malcolm Hanney, Liz Hardman. Nathan Hartley, Steve Hedges, Eleanor Jackson, Les Kew, Dave Laming, Malcolm Lees, Paul Myers, Douglas Nicol, Bryan Organ, Vic Pritchard, David Martin, Robin Moss, Manda Rigby, Caroline Roberts, Dine Romero, Will Sandry, Brian Simmons, Kate Simmons, Ben Stevens, Roger Symonds, David Veale, Martin Veal, Tim Warren, Chris Watt and Brian Webber

Apologies for absence: **Councillors** Tim Ball, David Bellotti, Sarah Bevan, Lisa Brett, Bryan Chalker, Paul Fox, Ian Gilchrist, Alan Hale, Marie Longstaff, Barry Macrae, Loraine Morgan-Brinkhurst MBE, June Player, Nigel Roberts, Jeremy Sparks and Geoff Ward

# 21 EMERGENCY EVACUATION PROCEDURE

The Chair drew attention to the emergency evacuation procedure as set out on the agenda.

#### 22 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest made.

# 23 ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL OR FROM THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting and explained how the meeting would proceed.

#### 24 TO ANNOUNCE ANY URGENT BUSINESS AGREED BY THE CHAIRMAN

There were no items of urgent business.

## 25 HONORARY ALDERMEN AND ALDERWOMEN APPOINTMENTS

The Chairman invited Councillor Crossley, as Leader of the Council to move the motion, which was seconded by Councillor Haeberling and supported by Councillors Bull and Deacon.

It was then unanimously

**RESOLVED** that the former B&NES Councillors set out below should have conferred on them the title of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman in recognition of their eminent and distinguished service both to this Council and its predecessor Councils

Sheila Bateman WA (Tony) Cox Matt Davis **Trevor Deacon OBE** Alan French Phyllis Gay Marian Hammond **David Hawkins** Lynda Hedges Adrian Inker Sir Elgar Jenkins OBE Jim Lingard Marian McNeir MBE Peter Metcalfe **Carol Paradise** Walter (Terry) Reakes Tom Rees-Mogg Les Sell **Bruce Shearn** Sheila Sheppard Shirley Steel Julie Stiddard Michael John Whittock Gordon Wood

Following this resolution, some words were said by current Councillors on behalf of each former Councillor, before they were invited in turn to receive from the Chairman a scroll marking their appointment and address the Council.

Councillor Crossley further announced that this was the first occasion on which this Council had conferred this recognition and the names set out below will join that of former Councillor Betty Perry who was made an Alderwoman by the former Avon County and thus our first and only Alderwoman. He explained that there are a number of other former Councillors where discussions continue or they are unable to attend and he anticipated there would be a few more names coming forward in the future. He asked for the names of some former Councillors who would have qualified for the title but had passed away to be recognised in the minutes; those mentioned were Brian Barrett, Wahid Chowdhury, Gordon Derrick, John Derrick, Alison McNair.

The meeting ended at 7.50 pm

Chair(person)

Date Confirmed and Signed

Prepared by Democratic Services